Shareholders’ Nomination Board

Last updated: October 2, 2020

Huhtamäki Oyj’s Annual General Meeting resolved on April 29, 2020 to establish a permanent Shareholders’ Nomination Board and to adopt the Charter of the Shareholders’ Nomination Board. The Nomination Board is responsible for preparing proposals to the Annual General Meeting, and, if necessary, to an Extraordinary General Meeting, for the election and remuneration of the members of the Board of Directors.

Each of the four largest shareholders of the Company have a right to appoint one member to the Nomination Board. In addition, the Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Company shall serve as an expert member of the Nomination Board. Should a shareholder not wish to use the appointment right, the next largest shareholder who would otherwise not have an appointment right becomes entitled to appoint a member to the Nomination Board. The shareholders entitled to appoint a member are determined annually on the basis of the shareholders’ register of the Company maintained by Euroclear Finland Ltd. on August 31. The representative of the largest shareholder will be the Chairman of the Nomination Board, unless the Nomination Board decides otherwise.

The Nomination Board must submit its proposals to the Board of Directors no later than on January 20 preceding the Annual General Meeting. The proposals of the Nomination Board are published through a stock exchange release and included in the notice to the General Meeting.

The members of the Nomination Board are not entitled to any remuneration on the basis of their membership in the Nomination Board. The members’ travel expenses are reimbursed in accordance with the Company’s travel policy.

Composition of the Shareholders’ Nomination Board

  • Antti Arjava, Secretary General, The Finnish Cultural Foundation (Chairman)
  • Annika Ekman, Head of Direct Equity Investments, Ilmarinen Mutual Pension Insurance Company
  • Risto Murto, President and CEO, Varma Mutual Pension Insurance Company
  • Johan Ståhl, Portfolio Manager, Lannebo Fonder
  • Pekka Ala-Pietilä, Chairman of the Board of Directors of Huhtamaki (Expert member)